RSS Feed

First Post

Posted on

This blog is for everyone who said, “I miss reading your blog!” (Hi, Mom!) “I love your writing,” (You’re too kind, Hubby) and even “You should write a book” (Sorry, Ashley, it’s not a book!). It’s also because somewhere along the way I said, “I want to start writing more.”

But let’s face it: anytime you consider putting your thoughts out there for the world to see (and criticize) it’s scary. I hemmed and hawed and came up with dozens of excuses why I couldn’t blog. Everything from “I don’t have time” to “I don’t know how to use WordPress.” The first seemed like a decent excuse, but if I took half the time I wasted on Facebook and put it towards writing then I could probably pen the next great American novel within the year. And the second excuse? Trying to pass myself off as a computer illiterate baby boomer isn’t my style.

Most recently, I’ve been telling myself that I couldn’t get started until I had an idea for a really great first post. I figured that the first post would set the tone for the rest of the blog, and therefore if it wasn’t good, then I’d be destined to remain another dorky wannabe who was just narcissistic enough to think they had something worth reading. Can you think of a harsher buzzkill? I finally decided to stop being so mean to myself and jump in feet first. And that’s how I got here, writing a cop out post–a post about a post, writing about writing. Maybe it’s not the great American novel,  but hey, things can only look up from here.

4 responses »

  1. Good to see you blogging again. I love you.

    Reply
  2. The blogworld has missed you! No, I’ve missed you. Made Mom’s day 🙂

    Love you!

    Reply
  3. Yay! I’m glad you’re back! I always love reading your writing, and I like the look of your new blog! Maybe if I ever work up the confidence to try blogging again, you can show me how to use WordPress. ;o)

    Reply
  4. Oh, and, by the way—awesome tagline (or subtitle, or whatever it’s called).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

