RSS Feed

Chunky Monkey and Why I’m Scared to Clean My House

Posted on

G-Man went in for his 2 month checkup today. At 24.5 inches long, and 12 lbs 9 oz, he’s in the 95th percentile for his height and 90th percentile for his weight. To put it in layman’s terms, he’s a CHUNK. He’s currently sleeping off his vaccines in the Ergo (I just got it yesterday, and I love, love, love it), but I expect in a few hours he’ll wake up and be mad at the world.

The Chunky Monkey hams it up for the camera:

9/20

In other news, I went to get a pair of clean underwear out of the laundry basket this morning and saw a giant spider sitting on top of my panties. Thankfully, Josh woke up sick this morning and was planning on leaving later for work, so he was still at home to kill the offending creature. However, as it’s getting colder and wetter outside, and the bugs are discovering that it’s warm and cozy inside our house, this spider was just one member of a huge bug army that I’m convinced is out to get me. I’ve seen crickets in the basement, silverfish behind the microwave, and ants in the sunroom. GROSS. I’ve decided it’s dangerous to dig too deep  into our house’s crooks and crevices, so I’m tabling all chores until the exterminator gets here tomorrow. But it’s a catch-22 since a messy house makes the bug problem worse. I think I may just sit on the couch and whimper.

Emmeline loves bugs. She thinks they’re all her friends. Here she is looking for “Bugga-Buggas” out in the yard. Sometimes I wonder if she’s really my child.

9/16 Exploring

6 responses »

  1. Train her properly and she will take care of your bug problem. If she won’t squash them, then teach her to catch and release OUTSIDE–some might die accidentally in the process, but that is part of being a budding environmentalist, isn’t it?

    Reply
  2. If you need a break from holding the chunky monkey, I’d be glad to take a turn. :o)

    As for the bugs—EEW! I’m not particularly scared of bugs, and I don’t really mind encountering them in their native habitat (outside), but they gross me out when they decide to share MY living space. Taras found two really nasty creepy things at the top of the wall above Abigail’s bed the other day, and I couldn’t even go in the room again until he had gotten rid of them. It’s a good thing Abigail didn’t see them—despite all her spunk and intrepidity, she’s terrified of houseflies.

    It’s so interesting how these little people develop and take on characteristics that are entirely their own. I’m still wondering where Abigail got her flair for theatrics. :o)

    Reply
  3. Oops. My poor smileys look like they’re about to be eaten by invisible fish with parenthetical mouths. Apparently WordPress doesn’t like round noses. 🙂

    Reply
  4. To be fair, bugs are extremely interesting when you don’t know they are dangerous…I am sure it will only take one wasp sting to get Emmeline over her love of bugs.

    Reply
  5. Heather The Great

    OK So I was out of commission for a week and am catching up. BTW, LOVE the blog, as if I dont get enough Katie and Krebs…now I get more.

    I am with you, bugs are from satan.

    Also, when you talk about cool things in your blog, make the word a hyperlink to the product or item…so I can know what an “Ergo” is. Those of us wanna be mom’s wanna know. 🙂

    Ughh, Gareth gets so big between visits!!! I feel he will be in college by my next visit. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

