RSS Feed

Hobbies

Posted on

Josh has always been good to me in that he’s always wanted to make sure I had a hobby–something just for me that doesn’t involve housework or diapers. Unfortunately the “doesn’t involve housework” part also rules out organizing. This would be my favorite hobby except for the price tag. What? You mean “spending loads of money at the Container Store” doesn’t count as a hobby? Bummer.

But every now and then he gives me some spending money and it’s hard to know what to spend it on when there are so. many. options. So I start narrowing down.

Item 1. A new bag. Always the first to go because you either save it “just for me when the kids aren’t with me” and then never use it, or you use it all the time and it ends up with kool-aid stains and goldfish crumbs.

Item 2. New pillows, curtain rods, window shades. Except technically these are house items, and should be coming out of the house budget, not the Katie budget. There’s so much crossover between the two categories though! My life is one big Venn diagram.

Item 3. Container Store. I can’t resist its siren song. Neither can I afford its siren song. Like I said, why can’t organizing my closets (and buying new Elfa accessories and pretty new matching basket sets) be a hobby?

Item 4. Books. Except I have shelves full of books I’ve bought and not read, so if I just committed to reading all of those first it would take me a year. But there is one book I really want. Make that two books.

Item 5. Crafty things. This is Josh’s favorite. He’s a firm believer that it’s good for people to know how to do something with their hands. I’ve tried to pick up crafty hobbies and they’ve come in the following stages:

A) The scrapbooking stage. This phase lasted the longest. And created a huge paper trail resulting in a lot of scrapbooks no one wants to read. But they are good memories. Mostly. Someone should have told my 15 year old self it’s not a good idea to document in scrapbook form your hatred for a boy who had a crush on you.

B) The knitting stage. I tried to like knitting. I was sort-of-but-not-really good at it. As long as I was making something that didn’t have to be a uniform size, then my stuff turned out nice. I made lots of scarves.

C) The bread-making stage. Making bread is an art, and it’s one I enjoy, but it’s also one that takes. a. lot. of. time. And it’s really the most fun when your kitchen is sparkly clean, which for me is almost never.

D) The sewing stage. I don’t know that I can really call this a “stage” yet because I haven’t taken a lot of time to learn, and I would love to be good at sewing, but that’s more out of necessity than sheer enjoyment of bending over a sewing machine. Have you seen how much the Disney store charges for princess dresses these days??? Also, our machine is a cheap one and doesn’t work very well. But I don’t want to get a nicer machine until I know how to use it and appreciate it. But it’s hard to learn on a cheap machine that doesn’t work very well. It’s a catch 22.

E) The furniture refinishing stage. OK. This one is fun. And it involves going to garage sales and thrift stores to find treasures, which is also fun. But it also involves sharing Josh’s tools, which would require him to put them away consistently in the same place. Hey, he always knows where they are. But he’s not always home to find them. We really need separate sets of tools. Also, when you’re going to refinish furniture, there comes a point when having a fear of power tools gets to be inconvenient. I really need to get over my issues and learn how to use a drill. Someday.

And that’s my first world problem of the day. My husband loves me and wants to buy me nice things and make me happy, and I just don’t know what to get! I think it’s time to stop over thinking this and go shopping. Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

