RSS Feed

In which Emmeline is convinced her world is ending

Posted on

We’ve all been sick this week except for Emmeline. Don’t worry, she’s kept us busy by needing stitches and getting into a jar of Icy Hot. But even Josh has been home sick for the last couple of days. His boss finally told him, “Josh, stop coming to work when you have a fever!” This morning I took Gareth to the doctor to make sure the little guy was holding up OK. Here’s how the conversation went with Emmeline this morning when I told her where Gareth and I were going.

(Emmeline wanders into our bedroom)

Me: Good morning, Emmeline.
Emmie: No, I want to snuggle with Daddy!

(Emmie crawls up on the bed)

Me: Emmie, I’m taking Gareth to see Dr. Chris this morning so Dr. Chris can give him some medicine to make him feel better.
Emmie (bursts into tears): But we have medicine! You don’t need to go to Dr. Chris!
Josh: Emmie, Dr. Chris has special medicine.
Emmie (still in tears): But Mommy, Daddy is sick! And you will go and go and you won’t come back tomorrow or tomorrow!
Me: Emmie, I’ll be home by lunch.
Josh (trying to appease Emmie): Emmie, do you want me to go to your room and turn on a movie for you?
Emmie (cries even harder): But I don’t watch movies in my room in the morning!
Me (whispering to Josh): In the morning we watch PBS in the living room.
Emmie: Yeah, Daddy! I’m supposed to watch PBS!

Poor Josh could not win. And poor Emmie was convinced her Daddy would not be able to handle things alone today. I wonder how she’ll react tomorrow when she finds out I’m going on an overnight trip. Maybe I should have some candy ready to soften the blow.

Leave a Reply

