RSS Feed

Yard work

Posted on
  • Josh wrote some sweet posts over on his blog about me and the kids.
  • A friend posted a link to this blog post, and I found it so wise and encouraging for our season of life.

Today was yard-mowing day. Happily it wasn’t too hot! But I’m always thankful for our large backyard–until I have to mow it, that is. I remember very distinctly a conversation I had with Josh before we bought this house.

“Josh, how will you have time to do house repairs and yard work when you’re so busy with school and work?”

“Oh, don’t worry, Sweetie, because I love doing yard work and fixing things! I enjoy them so much, they’re like hobbies to me, and I can’t wait to have a house of my own to work on!”

(Conversation exaggerated slightly but not much.)

Obviously, those were famous last words.

I can’t help Josh with house repairs–I’m a bit of a disaster when it comes to anything involving tools or a paint brush. But mowing eventually becamemy jurisdiction. It was an unspoken agreement. One day I was tired of the grass being so long, and I knew Josh wouldn’t have a chance to mow it, so I did it myself. Ever since then it’s unofficially been my job. I don’t mind–much–because the sunshine and the exercise are good sources of vitamin D and endorphins, so once I get inside and get a shower, put a skirt on (so I can feel feminine again instead of gross and sweaty), I’m usually in a fairly good mood for the rest of the afternoon. And it’s a way that I can do Josh good, and he’s always so thankful he doesn’t have to do it all himself. It’s so exhausting though when you’re in the middle of mowing (especially if, like me, you have to wait until naptime, which is the hottest part of the day) that my attitude is generally far from gracious until I’m actually through.

And I actually only mowed half of the backyard today because the mower shut off and I don’t know if it’s out of gas or something got caught or what, but it was lunchtime and I decided it wasn’t too much to ask Josh to finish up the easy half of the yard.

Oh, and my favorite accessory for mowing the lawn? My Crocs rain boots. They are completely indestructible and a force of nature in their own right, so I don’t have to worry about thorns, pine cones, or whatever little creatures might be lurking in our (probably ridiculously long) grass.

Speaking of little creatures, I found several spiders and spider webs today while mowing and I did. not. freak. out. Thanks in part to my impenetrablerain boots. I think some of them were probably poisonous, bloodthirsty spiders who could have VICIOUSLY ATTACKED AND KILLED ME, but I calmly sprayed them with my hose/kicked them with my boot and went about my business.

This involves so much personal growth…you just have no idea. But Josh does. And he’s glad that when I see (probably poisonous and bloodthirsty) spiders that I no longer call him screaming something along the lines of, “Josh! You are trying to murder me by moving me to this horrible house in this horrible city full of spiders and mice, and if you don’t kill them all TONIGHT then I’m going to sleep at a hotel until I can feel safe again in my own home! There are horrible creatures living in our walls, and they’re going to kill me, and I AM GOING TO DIE!”

(Again, conversation slightly exaggerated but not much.)

See what I mean? Personal growth. Also, Josh is a saint for loving me. I guess the least I can do is mow the yard for him every other week. And I know you’re supposed to mow more than once every two weeks. Give me a break, people. I have two small children, and I’m using a push mower, forgoodness’ sake. (I don’t hate the push mower. It’s helped me get really toned upper arms.) Also, he still hasn’t bought me a weed eater, although it’s not for lack of nagging on my part. And if you had told me 7 years ago that I would be asking someone to buy me a weed eater, I would have told you to get your head examined. Marriage changes you, people.

3 responses »

  1. Mawmaw (Connie)

    You are a better wife than I am, Katie. I still have never mowed a lawn; and furthermore, i don’t intend to. lol I’m glad Josh appreciates you and visa versa. And your pawpaw said to tell you that I said what I was writing you in front of him and it’s umteenth time he’s heard it.
    And we’ve still been married 51 years…. Love you, Mawmaw

    Reply
  2. Connie, Like mother like daughter. Renee makes it VERY clear that this will not happen around our house. However – I have nothing to complain about – she has kept me well fed over all these years. For some reason while living at home you, Katie, (like your sisters) have never mowed the grass either. I am not sure what is going on here.

    Reply
    • I couldn’t say what’s going on, except maybe to chalk it up to self-centered teenage years vs. life in the real world with a house/yard of my own. 🙂 Of course, as soon as Gareth is old enough to push anything other than a Fisher Price bubble mower, I’m retiring!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

