RSS Feed

Weekly update: Ballet, bats, batter, bargains

Posted on

Emmeline:  Started ballet last Saturday! She has already made two little friends, Kennedy and Jezreel, and I had a nice conversation with Kennedy’s mom. I know Emmeline is so happy to have her own big girl class to go to and to be making friends with girls her own age. Here’s a side-by-side comparison of her first ballet picture and my first ballet recital picture. We’re about the same age here:

Emmie's first day of "ballet school." I just love this girl. She's the greatest.

Emmie’s first day of “ballet school.” I just love this girl. She’s the greatest.

My first ballet recital. Feel free to tell me how cute I was. Those ears itched.

My first ballet recital. Feel free to tell me how cute I was. Those ears itched.

Gareth: He’s been my little baking helper. Bread dough, muffin batter, you name it, and he wants to lick the bowl. Lately when I correct him for disobeying he looks up at me with big, sad, blue eyes and says, “Hard, Momma.” Makes me want to scoop him up and give him a cookie. Then I remember I was supposed to be punishing him and realize I’ve been played. He loves to play “tickball” and doesn’t acknowledge any other kind of sport right now. He’s just all about the baseball. He was very excited to go see his Aunt Kelsey play ball until he realized it wasn’t “tickball.” And yesterday the car battery died, and Gareth went inside, found two of his toy tools, and came to the front door, very business like, saying, “Work now.  Mommy car.”

Joshua: The more he looks for jobs the less it looks like he’ll find that job in Nashville. But, God has used this job search to help Josh clarify the career path he really wants to take. So much has changed over the last two years–when we bought this house we really thought we’d be in Nashville for the next 10-20 years. The Lord obviously has different plans for us. Who knows where we may end up. I’m praying for somewhere close to friends and/or family.

Me: I found a brand new Columbia Sportswear coat at Goodwill for $15! And it was the exact color I’d have picked out for myself if I’d bought it new. I saw the same coat on sale today online and it was “marked down” to $100, so I felt pretty good about my find. And I finally found a non-dairy coffee creamer recipe that isn’t awful. I’m attempting to crochet Gareth a wool diaper cover. The pattern looks easy; I have no idea if it will work. If it doesn’t work, I’m only out about $6, and if it does work, then I have a thrifty, fun way to make all-night soakers for Gareth and/or any other future babies who might need them. Some friends were so sweet to bless us with some diapers, so he doesn’t really need any right now. This project is purely for my own enjoyment.

And here’s a bonus picture of Mr. Cool Dude Gareth in his natural habitat (no clothes on and riding his toy plane):

He basically only wears clothes out in public.

He basically only wears clothes out in public.

Leave a Reply

